Marieke van der Meer, what’s your WHY?

mARI.jpg

golovkin-brook-tale-of-the-tape

Age: 55+

Origins: Born in a tiny rural village in the Netherlands. Until we moved house at the age of 10 I spoke both standard Dutch (at home and in the classroom) and the local dialect (with my friends and in the school playground). I must have picked up the dialect in Kindergarten – didn’t get any formal tuition ;-). I was always very much aware of how different the 2 varieties of Dutch felt, as if I was a young girl with a split personality…! Despite my Dutch origins, I feel at home in the UK, especially in Wales.

Current roles: Freelance pronunciation coach at university language centres here in the NL, Cambridge English speaking examiner and driving force behind setting up my own (online) pronunciation coaching practice for Chinese PhDs.

Previous teaching experience: Business English (at colleges and in-company ), general English (primary and secondary school levels), academic English (speaking and writing) and music teaching (toddlers and their parents)



Other articles in the What’s your WHY? series (if you’d like to contribute, please get in touch!):

Gianni Licata

Marjorie Rosenberg

Sandy Millin

Bronte Rose Ainsley

Alister McCarty

James Egerton (yours truly)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s